Happy Geeky Holidays!

I hope all of you had a Merry Christmas, Yule, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, or whatever dead-of-winter holiday you celebrate. I sure did!

Geeky Gifts
Here are a few geeky gifts I got that I’ve been super excited about:

Dice Ring – This awesome dice ring by critsuccess.com has a layered free-spinning band that simulates a d20. With odds on a silver background, and evens on a black background it also works really well for a 50/50 coin toss decision as well. Worn on my index finger, I can easily spin it with my thumb.  Quite possibly the best “fidget toy” ever invented! Oh, look, a natural 20!

photo 1
 

More Fate dice – This is the Winter Knight set. I really needed more for my office game. Besides, can you ever really have too many dice?

photo 2
 

Lords of Waterdeep and the Scoundrels of Skullport expansion – I recently started playing Lord of Waterdeep on the iPad, and I really like it. I haven’t had a chance to play with the expansion yet, but this is a phenomenal game. If you want to get a very true sense for the game without plopping down the full price, try it on the iPad first!

photo 3
 

Lost Cities – This is a two-player game for me and my wife to play alone. It seems that in order for a game to be actually good with only two players, it has to be designed as such, so my wife and I have started collecting 2 player games for use to play with each other. This one is simple in concept, but quite challenging. Highly recommend it!

photo (6)

Lazy Days – Video Games and Reading

I finally beat Mass Effect. No, not the series, the first game. Yeah, I know, I’m way behind… but this is a big deal for me! I can count on one hand the number of video games that I have actually beaten. So now I’m off on my way through Mass Effect 2, and loving it.

 

I also just finished reading the latest Dresden Files novel by Jim Butcher, Cold Days. I had gotten confused after finishing Changes, and thought I was up to date, and only recently realized that I still had one more book to read to be current. Fixed that! Also, if you enjoy Dresden, there is a great anthology called Dangerous Women full of short stories about badass heroines. Butcher has one in there about Molly, bridging her time in between Changes and Cold Days. It’s really quite fabulous and any Dresden aficionado should definitely pick it up!

 
         
 

Happy Holidays to y’all!

-Razorstorm

Leave a Reply

